Directorate Change

Balfour Beatty PLC 15 May 2003 BALFOUR BEATTY PLC DIRECTORS As announced on 4 February, Viscount Weir retires today as Chairman, in which capacity he has served the Group since 1996, having been a Director since 1977. He is succeeded by Sir David John, who has been a non-executive Director since 2000. Sir David is chairman of Premier Oil Group, The BSI Group and immediate past chairman of The BOC Group. Formerly a director of Inchcape plc, he is a member of the CBI President's Committee and the CBI International Advisory Board. Sir David already chairs Balfour Beatty's Business Practices Committee. Commenting today on Viscount Weir's tenure as Chairman, Sir David John said: ' This Company owes a great debt to Viscount Weir, who guided the Group through its major transformation of the late 1990s which saw its worldwide cables interests divested and the very successful establishment and development of Balfour Beatty as an independent public company. He and Christopher Reeves, whose retirement today after 21 years as a non-executive Director was also announced on 4 February, have served this Company with distinction and we thank them for it.' It is also announced that Udo Stark, who has been a non-executive Director since 1995, is to retire from the Board in early June due to other business commitments. He also leaves with the company's thanks and best wishes. Dr Hans Christoph von Rohr has been invited to join the Board as a non-executive Director in succession to Udo Stark. Dr von Rohr is chairman of the German Institute for Market Economy and Competition and a supervisory board member of several corporations. Previously he was chairman of the Industrial Investment Council and also CEO of the German manufacturing and trading group, Klockner-Werke AG. Enquiries to: Tim Sharp Tel: 020 7216 6884 This information is provided by RNS The company news service from the London Stock Exchange
UK 100

Latest directors dealings