Information  X 
Enter a valid email address

Cairn Energy PLC (CNE)


Friday 27 November, 2020

Cairn Energy PLC

Appointment of New Chair

RNS Number : 6972G
Cairn Energy PLC
27 November 2020







CAIRN ENERGY PLC ("Cairn" or "the Company")


Appointment of New Chair



Cairn is pleased to announce that Nicoletta Giadrossi will be appointed Chair of the Company with effect from 1 January 2021. She will succeed Ian Tyler who, after seven years on the Cairn Board including six as Chairman, announced in May this year that he would retire from the Board on appointment of a successor.


Nicoletta Giadrossi is one of the Company's existing non-executive directors and was first appointed to the Board in January 2017. She has extensive experience in oil and gas and other energy markets, both in executive and non-executive roles, including wide engagement on Environmental, Social and Governance issues. Her appointment as Chair follows a thorough and comprehensive succession process and will enable an effective transition of the leadership of the Board.


In line with UK Corporate Governance Code recommendations, from 1 January 2021 Nicoletta will step down as chair of the remuneration committee (but shall remain a member of the committee) and will also retire as a member of the audit committee. Alison Wood will take over the role of chair of the remuneration committee and has extensive experience in this area, having served on the remuneration committees of a number other listed companies. In addition, Erik Daugbjerg will be appointed a member of the remuneration committee and Catherine Krajicek will be appointed a member of the audit committee.



Simon Thomson, Chief Executive of Cairn, said:


" I very much look forward to continuing to work with Nicoletta in her new role as Chair of the Board - she brings a huge breadth of knowledge and experience and will provide important continuity for Cairn as we position the Company for continued growth and success.  


On behalf of the Board, I would also like to thank Ian Tyler for his invaluable contribution as non-executive Chairman of the Company since 2014."





1.  Nicoletta Giadrossi does not currently hold any Cairn shares and no further information in connection with her appointment is required to be disclosed pursuant to Listing Rule 9.6.13R.


2.  The fees payable to Nicoletta Giadrossi in her role as non-executive Chair will be £180,000 per annum. The fees payable to the Chair and Cairn's other non-executive directors are reviewed on an annual basis.



Enquiries to:

Analysts / Investors


David Nisbet, Corporate Affairs

Tel: 0131 475 3000





Linda Bain, Corporate Affairs     
Cairn Energy PLC

Tel: 0131 475 3000



Patrick Handley, David Litterick

Brunswick Group LLP


Tel: 0207 404 5959


This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact [email protected] or visit

RNS may use your IP address to confirm compliance with the terms and conditions, to analyse how you engage with the information contained in this communication, and to share such analysis on an anonymised basis with others as part of our commercial services. For further information about how RNS and the London Stock Exchange use the personal data you provide us, please see our Privacy Policy.

a d v e r t i s e m e n t