Intl Con Airline Grp

Directorate Change

RNS Number : 3236K
International Cons Airlines Group
31 December 2020

31 December 2020

IAG Brexit Plans

International Consolidated Airlines Group, S.A. (IAG) has implemented plans to ensure that its EU licensed airlines continue to comply with EU ownership and control rules following Brexit.

These remedial plans were approved by national regulators in Spain and Ireland and, as required, the EU has been notified about them. The plans include the implementation of a national ownership structure for Aer Lingus and changes to the Group's long-standing national ownership structure in Spain.

In addition, the composition of the IAG Board of Directors has been changed so that it has a majority of independent EU non-executive directors. Deborah Kerr, María Fernanda Mejía and Steve Gunning have stepped down from the Board and Peggy Bruzelius, Eva Castillo Sanz and Heather Ann McSharry have joined it, all with immediate effect. Steve Gunning's executive functions as Chief Financial Officer remain unchanged.

As previously announced, IAG's Chairman, Antonio Vázquez, is due to retire in January and at that time the IAG Board will be reduced in size to eleven directors.

The IAG Nominations Committee has also been changed so that it is comprised of a majority of independent EU non-executive directors. Its members are Javier Ferrán (chair), Giles Agutter, Heather Ann McSharry, Alberto Terol and Antonio Vázquez.

Peggy Bruzelius and Eva Castillo Sanz have joined the IAG Audit and Compliance Committee. Eva Castillo Sanz and Heather Ann McSharry have joined the IAG Remuneration Committee, as well as Alberto Terol who will be chairing this Committee.

IAG's Chairman, Antonio Vázquez said: "It is disappointing that it has become necessary to make these changes to the Board. However, we are pleased that the EU-UK Trade and Cooperation Agreement recognises the potential benefits of further liberalisation of airline ownership and control because we believe that it is in the best interests of the industry and consumers.

"I would like to thank Deborah and María Fernanda for their valuable contribution to the Board and, particularly, Steve for supporting these changes."

IAG's Chair-Elect, Javier Ferrán, said: "I am pleased that we have identified strong replacements for the departing Board members and am confident that IAG is well placed to take advantage of a partial recovery in air travel demand in 2021."



Álvaro López-Jorrín
Secretary of the Board of Directors



This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact [email protected] or visit

RNS may use your IP address to confirm compliance with the terms and conditions, to analyse how you engage with the information contained in this communication, and to share such analysis on an anonymised basis with others as part of our commercial services. For further information about how RNS and the London Stock Exchange use the personal data you provide us, please see our Privacy Policy.