Information  X 
Enter a valid email address

BHP Billiton PLC (BLT)

  Print      Mail a friend       Annual reports

Friday 15 August, 2014

BHP Billiton PLC

Update on Portfolio Simplification

RNS Number : 2378P
BHP Billiton PLC
15 August 2014
 




 

NEWS RELEASE

Release Time

IMMEDIATE

Date

15 August 2014

Number

12/14

 

UPDATE ON PORTFOLIO SIMPLIFICATION

 

BHP Billiton has been simplifying its portfolio for over a decade and is pursuing options to make the Company simpler and more productive.

As we announced on 1 April 2014, we are actively studying the next phase of simplification, including structural options.  We believe that a portfolio focused on our major iron ore, copper, coal and petroleum assets would retain the benefits of diversification, generate stronger growth in cash flow and a superior return on investment.

By increasing our focus on these four pillars, with potash as a potential fifth, we will be able to more quickly improve the productivity and performance of our largest businesses.

Since then, the Board has continued to study various structural alternatives including at its meeting this week. A demerger of a selection of assets is our preferred option.

The Board expects to consider this, and other matters, when it reconvenes next week.  If any material decisions are made, they will be announced immediately. 

 

Further information on BHP Billiton can be found at: www.bhpbilliton.com.

Media Relations

 

Australia

 

Emily Perry

Tel: +61 3 9609 2800  Mobile: +61 477 325 803

email: Emily.Perry@bhpbilliton.com

 

Paul Hitchins

Tel: + 61 3 9609 2592 Mobile: + 61 419 315 001

email: Paul.Hitchins@bhpbilliton.com

 

Eleanor Nichols

Tel: +61 3 9609 2360  Mobile: +61 407 064 748

email: Eleanor.Nichols@bhpbilliton.com

 

United Kingdom

 

Ruban Yogarajah

Tel: +44 20 7802 4033  Mobile: +44 7827 082 022

email: Ruban.Yogarajah@bhpbilliton.com

 

Jennifer White

Tel: +44 20 7802 7462  Mobile: +44 7827 253 764

email: Jennifer.White@bhpbilliton.com

 

Americas

 

Ruban Yogarajah

Tel: +44 20 7802 4033 Mobile: +44 7827 082 022

email: Ruban.Yogarajah@bhpbilliton.com

 

Investor Relations

 

Australia

 

Tara Dines

Tel: +61 3 9609 2222 Mobile: +61 499 249 005

email: Tara.Dines@bhpbilliton.com

 

Jodie Phillips

Tel: +61 3 9609 2069 Mobile: +61 418 710 516

email: Jodie.Phillips@bhpbilliton.com

 

United Kingdom and South Africa

 

Jonathan Price

Tel: +44 20 7802 4131 Mobile: +44 7990 527 726

email: Jonathan.H.Price@bhpbilliton.com

 

Dean Simon

Tel: +44 20 7802 7461 Mobile: +44 7717 511 193

email: Dean.Simon@bhpbilliton.com

 

Americas

 

James Agar

Tel: +1 212 310 1421 Mobile: +1 347 882 3011

email: James.Agar@bhpbilliton.com

 

Joseph Suarez

Tel: +1 212 310 1422 Mobile: +1 646 400 3803

email: Joseph.Suarez@bhpbilliton.com

 

 

 

BHP Billiton Limited ABN 49 004 028 077

Registered in Australia

Registered Office: Level 16, 171 Collins Street

Melbourne Victoria 3000 Australia

Tel +61 1300 55 4757 Fax +61 3 9609 3015

 

BHP Billiton Plc Registration number 3196209

Registered in England and Wales

Registered Office: Neathouse Place

London SW1V 1LH United Kingdom

Tel +44 20 7802 4000 Fax +44 20 7802 4111

 

Members of the BHP Billiton Group which is headquartered in Australia

 


This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange
 
END
 
 
MSCPAMJTMBTBMTI