Information  X 
Enter a valid email address

Pearson PLC (PSON)

  Print      Mail a friend       Annual reports

Wednesday 03 March, 2010

Pearson PLC

Directorate Change

RNS Number : 0396I
Pearson PLC
03 March 2010

March 3, 2010

Board Change

Pearson announces that Terry Burns, a non-executive director, will retire from the board at the company's annual general meeting on 30 April 2010.

Lord Burns has been a non-executive director of Pearson since 1999 and the senior independent director since 2004. Patrick Cescau, a non-executive director since 2002, will become Pearson's senior independent director and join the remuneration committee. The board's nomination committee is currently recruiting a new non-executive director to replace Terry Burns.

Terry Burns is chairman of Santander UK and a non-executive director of Banco Santander SA, and was recently appointed chairman of the Channel 4 Television Corporation. He was previously chairman of Marks & Spencer and Permanent Secretary of HM Treasury.

Patrick Cescau is a non-executive director of Tesco plc and a member of the board of directors of INSEAD. He was previously group chief executive of Unilever.

Pearson's chairman Glen Moreno said:

"The board joins me in thanking Terry for his commitment and contribution to Pearson. He has been a constant source of wisdom and support throughout the company's decade-long transformation."


For more information:

Luke Swanson/Simon Mays-Smith/Charles Goldsmith
+44 (0)20 7010 2310


This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange